First Lines Fridays – 3rd December 2021

Hey everyone!

It is time for this week’s First Lines Fridays post!


First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

The first lines of today’s chosen book are:

Shannon pushed herself back against the wall firmly enough for the exposed brick to dig her in the back. Her buttocks were lifted, her feet out in front of her to scrabble in the straw, pushing it away in clumps towards the mud-flecked boots that had appeared under the weathered door.


And the book is…

Lethal Game by Charlie Gallagher

PURCHASE HERE (affiliate links): Amazon UK, Waterstones, Book Depository

GoodReads Synopsis:

He knows your name. Where you live. How to find your family.
If you don’t play the game, the people you love will die. If you lose the game, you will.

When DI Joel Norris and DS Lucy Rose are called to investigate the death of a young woman, found brutally murdered on a quiet country lane, they can have no way of knowing what lies ahead.

This killer makes his own rules, using his victims like chess pieces in a life-sized match of strategy and escape, with the highest stakes imaginable.

Norris and Rose are now pawns in the killer’s twisted contest.

Can they beat him at his own game before the next round begins and more innocent lives are taken?

A totally addictive, edge-of-your-seat, crime-thriller perfect for fans of Cara Hunter, Ian Rankin and Stuart MacBride.


I recently received a copy of Lethal Game from the publishers, and I am really excited to read it! It sounds like the type of book that I will love.


Have you read this book?
If yes, what did you think of it?

Let me know in the comments!


Disclaimer: My posts often include affiliate links, which means that I receive a small commission for any purchase made through my links, but with no extra charge to you. Thank you for supporting me and my blog.

One thought on “First Lines Fridays – 3rd December 2021

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: