Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

Blog Tour Review: Old Bones Lie by Marion Todd

Hey everyone!
Today is my stop on the blog tour for Old Bones Lie by Marion Todd, and I am excited to be sharing my review with you all.

A massive thank you to @Lovebookstours and @Canelo_co for allowing me to be a part of the tour.


Title: Old Bones Lie
Author: Marion Todd
Genre: Crime Fiction
Publisher: Canelo Crime
Page Count: 358
Buy It Here (affiliate links): Amazon UKWaterstonesBook Depository

Book Blurb:

DI Clare Mackay is about to face a test of her loyalty…

When a report comes in that a van containing two prison officers and a convicted jewel thief is missing, the police in St Andrews work quickly to locate the vehicle. Their efforts prove in vain when no trace is found and they realise the wives of both officers also appear to have left the area. Is this a case of corrupt guards springing a felon, or innocent people caught in the crossfire?

DI Clare Mackay leads the team but has to do without her right hand man; DS Chris West is a cousin to one of the missing prison officers and must not be involved in the case. With a new sergeant at her side plus a previously unencountered DCI, Clare’s people skills are pushed to the limit. Especially once she realises her boss is keeping her on the sidelines. Just what is it that Clare doesn’t know? And if she has to choose between keeping secrets from a friend, or letting slip something that could see a culprit go free, which path will she take?

A compelling addition to the bestselling series by a much-loved Scottish crime author, perfect for fans of Caro Ramsay, Lin Anderson and Alex Gray.


My Review:

As you all know, I love a good crime thriller, and despite the great things I have heard about Marion Todd in the past, this was my first time reading any of her books. Well, I can certainly see why people like her!

Old Bones Lie begins with four friends enjoying a normal Saturday night in, but things soon take an unexpected turn when the group are held at gun point, and the two women are forcibly removed from the house. This opening scene sets you up perfectly, and leaves you ready to completely dive in to the rest of the book.

After the opening chapter, we are then introduce to DI Clare Mackay and her team. When a report comes in that a police van, two officers, and a convicted felon have gone missing, it is all hands on deck to crack the case. Once they get in to the case though, they realise that it isn’t as straight forward as they first thought. There are so many elements to this case and as the story goes in it creates lots more questions than it does answers. It’s exciting, and it keeps you guessing. This book has you hooked from beginning to end.

In regards to the characters, they were all very well written. I liked Clare, not only does she seem to be a great officer, who never takes her eye off the ball, she also has a very likeable personality, and cares a lot about her friends and colleagues. Her team are a real mix, but I love their banter, and how seamlessly they work together. Even the villains of the story were enjoyable to read. They were believable and real, and in one specific part of the story, extremely intimidating.

All of the aspects of this case are woven together brilliantly, and come together so perfectly in the end. There were a few parts that I definitely didn’t see coming, which just added to the build up and excitement before the final reveals, which in themselves were extremely satisfying.

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and although this is part of the DI Clare Mackay series, it can easily be read as a standalone (which is how I read it). I will definitely be going back to read the rest of the series.

I give Old Bones Lie a 4 star rating!

*A huge hank you to Love Books Tours and Canelo Crime for my copy of the book, in exchange for an honest review*


About The Author:

A native of Dundee, Marion studied music with the Open University and worked for many years as a piano teacher and jobbing accompanist. A spell as a hotel lounge pianist provided rich fodder for her writing and she began experimenting with a variety of genres.

Early success saw her winning first prize in the Family Circle Magazine short story for children national competition and she followed this up by writing short stories and articles for her local newspaper.

Life (and children) intervened and, for a few years, Marion’s writing was put on hold. During this time, she worked as a college lecturer, plantswoman and candle-maker. But, as a keen reader of crime fiction, the lure of the genre was strong, and she began writing her debut crime novel. Now a full-time writer, Marion lives in North-east Fife, overlooking the River Tay. She can often be found working out plots for her novels while tussling with her jungle-like garden and walking her daughter’s unruly but lovable dog.

YOU CAN FIND MARION HERE:
Website, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, GoodReads


FOLLOW THE TOUR:


Disclaimer: My posts often include affiliate links, which means that I receive a small commission for any purchase made through my links, but with no extra charge to you. Thank you for supporting me and my blog.


Twitter – Facebook – Instagram – GoodReads – TikTok – Etsy Store – Wish List

Advertisement

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: