Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

Review: Her Secret War by Pam Lecky

Hey everyone!
Today, I am excited to be sharing my review of Her Secret War by Pam Lecky with you all.


Title: Her Secret War
Author: Pam Lecky
Release Date: 14th October 2021
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publisher: Avon Books
Page Count: 384
Buy It Here (affiliate links): Amazon UKWaterstonesBook Depository

GoodReads Synopsis:

A moment that ruins her life

On 31st May 1941, Germany drops bombs on neutral Dublin and Sarah Gillespie loses her family and home that fateful night. Days later, the man she loves leaves Ireland to enlist in the RAF.

A decision that changes her life

With nothing to keep her in Ireland and a burning desire to help the war effort, Sarah seeks refuge with relatives in Hampshire, England. But before long, Sarah’s family history catches up with her.

A mission that could cost her life

Sarah is asked to prove her loyalty to Britain through uncovering a spy at Vickers Supermarine, the manufacturers of the legendary Spitfire fighter plane. But to progress with her mission, she must become involved with a fifth columnist. And so the most dangerous game she’s ever played ensues…

A gripping story that explores a deadly tangle of love and espionage in war-torn Britain, perfect for fans of Pam Jenoff, Kate Quinn and Kate Furnivall. 


My Review:

*Thank you to Avon Books and NetGalley for my copy of the book, in exchange for an honest review*

I’ve always been a fan of historical fiction, especially those based around either of the World Wars. Despite having read a lot of them, Her Secret War immediately stood out to me, and I was so excited to read it.

The beginning of this story was nothing like I had expected. It was explosive (quite literally), and emotional, and it has you completely invested immediately. Sarah’s world is turned upside in an instant, she’s lost her family, her home, and everything in it. The pain that Sarah must have been feeling is unimaginable.

When Sarah then makes the decision to move to England, to live with her aunt and uncle, she’s initially unsure whether this was the right choice, but she is determined to fight the evil that destroyed her family and her life, and England is the best place to do it. However, moving in with her relatives brought unexpected happiness to Sarah’s life. They are warm, welcoming, and loving, and they take her in to their home like one of their own. This is a happy home environment that Sarah hasn’t experienced in a very long time.

When she starts a job at Vickers Supermarine, alongside her uncle and her cousin, she soon begins to make friends and gets really stuck in to her work. But, her family’s past soon raises its awful head, and it seems that Sarah will never be able to escape the reputation of her father, and his IRA connections. I really liked that this story looked at how the history of the IRA effected the people of Ireland during the war, regardless of where their allegiance laid. This was the first time I had seen this included in a WWII historical fiction novel, but I would definitely like to see it involved in more, as I felt that it brought an extra interesting element to the story.

Proving her loyalty to Britain and completing her mission was much more difficult than Sarah could have ever imagined, and she faced unimaginable dangers, including the danger of death, but she was willing to do whatever it would take to not only prove herself, but also get her revenge on the enemy. There was so much excitement along the way, and obstacles that Sarah could never have seen coming. The further she got, the more danger that surrounded her and anyone close to her.

Throughout the story, I had quite a few theories and ideas on what was going to happen, and who the spy at Supermarine was, but then there would be a curveball thrown my way, and I was back to being clueless as to who it was. I kept changing my mind! There were twists along the way that I never saw coming, and also a few that I had predicted, but ultimately, the outcome was NOT what I had expected.

This book is a fantastic historical fiction, that is incredibly written, and difficult to put down. I will definitely be continuing Sarah’s story and picking up the book’s sequel, Her Last Betrayal.

I give Her Secret War a 4.5 star rating!


Disclaimer: My posts often include affiliate links, which means that I receive a small commission for any purchase made through my links, but with no extra charge to you. Thank you for supporting me and my blog.


Twitter – Facebook – Instagram – GoodReads – TikTok – Etsy Store – Wish List

Advertisement

6 thoughts on “Review: Her Secret War by Pam Lecky

Add yours

Leave a Reply to _forbookssake Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: