Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

Blog Tour Review: Where David Threw Stones by Elyse Hoffman

Hey everyone!
Today I am sharing my review of Where David Threw Stones by Elyse Hoffman with you all. My blog tour stop was a few days ago but unfortunately I didn’t managed to finished the book in time for my stop, and ended up sharing a spotlight post instead. So this review is coming a few days late, but better late than never I suppose!

A massive thank you to @The_WriteReads for allowing me to be a part of the tour.


Title: Where David Threw Stones
Author: Elyse Hoffman
Release Date: 27th September 2022
Page Count: 442
Genre: Historical Fantasy
Buy It Here (affiliate link): Amazon UK

Book Blurb:

“Welcome to the Brennenbach of Midnight! The Curse Hours have begun.”

West Germany, 1968

When ten-year-old David Saidel’s parents are murdered by Neo-Nazis, he is sent to live with his grandfather in the anti-Semitic village of Brennenbach. David, miserable and lonely, finds solace in his kindly Grandpa Ernst, who has one strict rule: never go out after midnight.

One night, when David breaks curfew to search for his missing dog, he discovers why Ernst is so serious about his curfew: Brennenbach is cursed. When midnight strikes, the town is thrown back to 1943, the height of Hitler’s reign.

During the Curse Hours, the Nazi ghosts that infest Brennebach are just as dangerous as they were in life. They’re hunting for David because they think David is the last remaining member of the Kogan family. Whatever happened to the Kogan’s caused the Curse, and David and his grandfather won’t be safe until he finds a way to end it.

Through the help of a little girl named Maria Rahm, the daughter of a vicious Nazi Lieutenant, he sets out to uncover the truth behind the Kogan’s. Can he end the Curse that plagues the town of Brennenbach before it claims another victim?

This spellbinding Historical WW2 Fantasy Novel is a story of a ten-year-old boy’s loss, redemption, and ultimate courage. Award-winning author Elyse Hoffman has crafted an expertly woven tale of World War II’s horrors. This thrilling story is perfect for readers of Marcus Zusak’s “The Book Thief,” John Boyne’s “The Boy in the Striped Pajamas,” or Michael Reit’s “Beyond the Tracks.”


My Review:

I previously took part in the blog tour for The Book of Uriel by Elyse Hoffman at the end of 2021, and absolutely loved it (REVIEW HERE), so when Dave @ The Write Reads announced the tour for Where David Threw Stones, I immediately jumped at the chance, and I am so glad that I did.

With a shocking opening sentence, and a devastating first chapter, this story immediately has you hooked, and highlights how post war Germany still wasn’t a great deal better for the Jewish community. The hatred was so ingrained that many German people refused to let it go. The murder of David’s parents, and the treatment David receives when he arrives in Brennenbach are perfect examples of this.

We are introduced to some really nasty characters, some of which redeem themselves, and others not so much. But we also get some truly lovely characters too. There were a few very interesting personalities, and Maria and Alfons were particular favourites of mine.

Elyse Hoffman has such a beautiful writing style, and both of her books that I have now read have had a very unique take on the subject of war which I have really enjoyed. Going in to Where David Threw Stones, I was unsure if I would get in to the time travel element, or if it would even work, but it gave this story a whole new layer and depth. I think this is what makes this book really stand out from the crowd.

The twist towards the end of the book totally threw me! I never saw the huge revelation coming, and I still can’t believe it, but once you find out, you do think back and realise that actually there were little hints and signs cleverly slipped in along the way.

This story has you on an emotional rollercoaster, from absolutely heartbreaking moments, to giggling at the anti-Nazi jokes that are slipped in from time to time, to a complete u-turn back to the devastating horrors of Nazi Germany. Incredibly written, powerful, and hard hitting, I highly recommend this to any historical fiction fans. I am looking forward to reading more of Elyse Hoffman’s books in the future.

I give Where David Threw Stones a 5 star rating!


About The Author:

Elyse Hoffman is an award-winning author who strives to tell historical tales with new twists. She loves to meld WWII and Jewish history with fantasy, folklore, and the paranormal. She has written six works of Holocaust historical fiction: The Barracks of the Holocaust five-book series and The Book of Uriel. Elyse’s books are the way to go if you love history and want to read some unique stories.

YOU CAN FIND ELYSE HERE:
TwitterInstagramGoodReads


Disclaimer: My posts often include affiliate links, which means that I receive a small commission for any purchase made through my links, but with no extra charge to you. Thank you for supporting me and my blog.


Twitter – Facebook – Instagram – GoodReads – TikTok – Etsy Store – Wish List

Advertisement

One thought on “Blog Tour Review: Where David Threw Stones by Elyse Hoffman

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: