Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started

Blog Tour Review: Stay Awake by Megan Goldin

Hey everyone!
Today is my stop on the blog tour for Stay Awake by Megan Goldin, and I am excited to be sharing my review with you all.

A massive thank you to @Lovebookstours and @CaneloCrime for allowing me to be a part of the tour.


Title: Stay Awake
Author: Megan Goldin
Genre: Thriller
Publisher: Canelo Crime
Page Count: 353
Buy It Here (affiliate links): Amazon UKWaterstonesBook Depository

Book Blurb:

A murder she doesn’t remember committing. Or a killer she doesn’t remember meeting?

Liv Reese wakes up in the back of a taxi with no idea where she is or how she got there. She is dropped off at her apartment, but is confronted by a stranger who claims to live there. Confused, she reaches for her phone to call for help – only to find that in its place is a bloodstained knife. That’s when she sees that her hands are covered in scribbles repeating the same two words: STAY AWAKE.

Last she recalls, Liv was a successful writer for a New York magazine. Now, she’s lost and disoriented in the city. She is horrified to see news reports of a crime scene where the victim’s blood has been used to scrawl a message: the same message that’s inked on her hands. What did she do last night before waking in a moving car?

Liv finds herself on the run for a crime she doesn’t remember committing and trying to piece together the fragments of her life. But there’s someone who knows exactly what she did, and they’ll do anything to make her forget – permanently.

An electrifying thriller that unfolds at a breakneck speed, Stay Awake is guaranteed to keep you up all night. Perfect for fans of S J Watson, Lisa Unger and Riley Sager.


My Review:

*Thank you to Love Books Tours and Canelo Crime for my copy of the book, in exchange for an honest review*

From the very beginning of this story, I had so many questions! It hooks you in immediately with its unique storyline, which makes it impossible to put down. I was desperate to find out why Liv forgets things when she sleeps, and how she can just forget years of her life and everything she has done in that time. What happened to her?

When she then finds a blood stained knife in her pocket, and a report of a local murder on the news, the signs all point to Liv being a killer, but she has no idea what happened to her the night before. Did she do it? Could she be a killer? We spend the rest of the story trying to figure out the truth, piecing together the fragments of Liv’s life, completely unsure whether Liv is guilty or not until the very end.

This is where Halliday and Lavelle come in to the equation. Detectives in charge of the murder case, they make a very interesting team. They seem to really compliment each other in regards to knowledge and theory on the case and crime scene, and I thoroughly enjoyed how they worked together.

We get the story from multiple POV. The chapters rotate between Liv in current time where she has forgotten, Liv in the past where she is living her life normally, and the detectives in current time where they are attempting to solve the murder case with Liv as their main suspect. The different time frames and POV keep you even more invested and engaged in this story, and are woven in to each other perfectly.

In Liv’s chapters, particularly the present day chapters, there is quite a bit of repetition of information, but where that would normally be rather annoying, in this case it really works. It’s as though it has been done to reiterate Liv’s memory loss and the information she CAN remember. It’s like being inside her mind, and helps you to understand how difficult it must be to deal with her situation. I can’t imagine what it must feel like to wake up and have forgotten large sections of your life, it must be so disorientating and also extremely scary.

The story concludes with a tense, and exciting final few chapters, with twists that I didn’t expect. All loose ends are tied up nicely, and all of my questions throughout the story were answered, but not necessarily in the ways I had expected. This book is so cleverly written, and I would love to read more books like this. I loved every single second of it!

I give Stay Awake a 5 star rating!


About The Author:

Megan Goldin was a journalist before she became a writer. She reported from the Middle East for the Associated Press, Reuters, the (Australian) ABC and other news outlets. She worked in Asia as a reporter and editor for Reuters and Yahoo!. She is the author of the psychological thriller Stay Awake, The Night Swim and The Escape Room. 

YOU CAN FIND MEGAN HERE:
Website, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, GoodReads


FOLLOW THE TOUR:


Disclaimer: My posts often include affiliate links, which means that I receive a small commission for any purchase made through my links, but with no extra charge to you. Thank you for supporting me and my blog.


Twitter – Facebook – Instagram – GoodReads – TikTok – Etsy Store – Wish List

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: